Aron Taylor-Smith to race Blancpain Bentley after BTCC exit – GT

Upgrade for free today

You have 10 articles remaining to view this month.

British Touring Car Championship race-winner Aron Taylor-Smith will contest this year’s Blancpain GT Series Sprint Cup with Team Parker Racing.

Taylor-Smith will share a Team Parker Bentley Continental GT3s with Briton Josh Caygill for the full season in the silver cup class.

A four-time BTCC race winner in Ford and Volkswagen machinery between 2012-16, Taylor-Smith announced last year he would step away from the series to chase a move into GT racing.

Bentley Motorsport head Brian Gush said: “With the M-Sport factory team switching its focus to the second-generation Continental GT3 and its development in the Endurance Cup, it was important for Bentley to retain a presence in the Sprint category.

“Team Parker’s experience makes them an ideal candidate.”

Taylor-Smith added: “Joining the Team Parker Bentley programme is literally a dream come true and represents a milestone moment in my career.

“We completed our first test recently and it’s apparent that everyone in the team is dedicated to achieving success.

“I feel extremely lucky to be learning from the best, while in the few days I’ve spent getting to know Josh it’s clear how fast and dedicated he is.

“I’m really looking forward to seeing what we can achieve together.

“The car is a big step forward from what I’ve driven in the past, and I think that’s what excites me the most.”

Caygill most recently competed in the single-make Audi TT Cup and Blancpain Endurance Series with the WRT Audi team.

The Yorkshireman said: “There’s a really good atmosphere within the team and both myself and Aron are working well together already.

“I was blown away by the Bentley and how comfortable I felt in it from day one.

“I know first-hand how competitive Blancpain Endurance is, but I’m looking forward to the shorter Sprint races where it’s more cut and thrust.”

Team Parker Racing is also expected to enter the Blancpain Endurance category, with its driver line-up to be announced soon.

Source link

Articles You May Like

Robert Kubica surprised to enjoy non-racing Williams F1 team role – F1
Broken legs among Wickens’s injuries in vicious IndyCar Pocono shunt – IndyCar
New floor among Renault F1 aerodynamic updates for 2018 Belgian GP – F1
WRC Rally Germany: Ott Tanak stretches lead over Sebastien Ogier – WRC
False rumours of Michael Schumacher move to Mallorca clarified – F1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *