WRC Rally Argentina: Andreas Mikkelsen leads Ott Tanak by one second – WRC


Get unlimited access

You have 10 articles remaining to view this month.

Andreas Mikkelsen moved into the Rally Argentina lead on Friday morning, but only by one second over a flying Ott Tanak.

An impact with a rock on the day’s opening Las Bajadas stage caused Tanak to spin and left his Toyota with minor steering damage, leaving him running ninth.

Despite the steering not being right for the following two stages, Tanak won both and surged back up the order.

That brought him to within a second of Mikkelsen, who had hit the front for Hyundai on SS3.

World Rally champion Sebastien Ogier had led at the end of SS2, where conditions proved better than expected for him as first driver on the road.

But the road-cleaning effect had a bigger impact on the next two stages and Ogier slipped back to fourth behind Kris Meeke – albeit still within 5.3s of the lead.

Shakedown pacesetter Jari-Matti Latvala ran third after SS2 and his early SS3 splits suggested a challenge for the lead, only for the Toyota driver to break his suspension on a rock and have to retire from the day.

Title contender Thierry Neuville runs fifth for Hyundai, in touch with the podium battle, and closely followed by Hyundai team-mate Dani Sordo, Citroen returnee Craig Breen and Toyota’s Esapekka Lappi.

Ogier’s M-Sport Ford team-mates Elfyn Evans and Teemu Suninen have struggled for pace so far and are falling away from the rest of the WRC pack in ninth and 10th.

In WRC2, Pontus Tidemand has established an early lead in his works Skoda.

Pos Driver Team Car Gap
1 Andreas Mikkelsen, A.Jager Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT Hyundai 44m15.7s
2 Ott Tanak, M.Jarveoja Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT Toyota 1.0s
3 Kris Meeke, P.Nagle Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT Citroen 5.1s
4 Sebastien Ogier, J.Ingrassia M-Sport Ford WRT Ford 5.3s
5 Thierry Neuville, N.Gilsoul Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT Hyundai 8.2s
6 Dani Sordo, C.del Barrio Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT Hyundai 11.4s
7 Craig Breen, S.Martin Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT Citroen 14.5s
8 Esapekka Lappi, J.Ferm Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT Toyota 15.8s
9 Elfyn Evans, D.Barritt M-Sport Ford WRT Ford 27.4s
10 Teemu Suninen, M.Markkula M-Sport Ford WRT Ford 38.8s


Source link

Articles You May Like

Wood Brothers NASCAR team co-founder Glen Wood dies aged 93
Kevin Magnussen’s ‘wild’ reputation is ‘wrong’ – Haas F1 team boss
Dakar 2019: Loeb wins another stage, Al-Attiyah extends overall lead
Toro Rosso willing to make more sacrifices to help Red Bull in 2019
LCR Honda boss: Cal Crutchlow can fight for 2020 MotoGP title

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *