NASCAR Dover: Harvick dominates rain-hit race, Bowyer second – NASCAR


Get unlimited access

You have 10 articles remaining to view this month.

Stewart-Haas Racing’s Kevin Harvick dominated a rain-interrupted NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Dover to take his fourth win of the season for Ford.

Harvick led almost exactly half of the race’s 400 laps and took both stage wins, with only Penske’s Brad Keselowski in close company for much of the race’s duration.

Harvick’s win looked under threat for a time as the race was stopped for 49 minutes due to rain with 80 laps remaining, at which point his team-mate Clint Bowyer led with the long-time leader in second.

Just before the stoppage, Bowyer had jumped several cars at a restart when Jamie McMurray’s Chevrolet, in second as he had not pitted under the preceding caution, was slow away on old tyres and backed up many rivals behind him – including Harvick and Keselowksi.

But when racing resumed after the rain had passed, Harvick quickly moved close to Bowyer and overtook him to lead again with 60 laps remaining.

He held on comfortably from there to take his second Dover win by seven seconds.

Bowyer eventually finished second ahead of Daniel Suarez of Joe Gibbs Racing, with reigning champion Martin Truex Jr in fourth.

The Furniture Row Racing driver had fallen off the lead lap as he pitted under green near the end of stage one with his right front tyre was deflating.

But he got back onto the lead lap by taking a wave around at the end of the first stage.

Kurt Busch finished fifth for Stewart-Haas Racing ahead of Keselowski, who made it four Fords in the top six.

Keselowski had been further delayed by a slow stop due to issues on his left rear tyre when all the cars pitted just after the red flag period.

The other Penske of Ryan Blaney came home eighth, behind Joe Gibbs Racing’s Denny Hamlin.

Hamlin recovered from starting stage two at the back after having to pit before the pitlane opened at the end of stage one due to a low fuel level.

Jimmie Johnson was ninth, while Kyle Larson finished 10th after an eventful weekend.

Larson was quickest in qualifying but had to start from the back after his Chevrolet failed the pre-race inspection three times.

He got up with the leaders via a counter strategy, but then had to pit under green before the end of the first stage and his loss was compounded by getting a penalty for an uncontrolled tyre in the stop, which left him two laps down.

Larson then worked his way back to the lead lap with a wave around under a caution caused by Kyle Busch’s Toyota running slowly with a driveshaft failure.

This breakage meant points leader Busch retired at the race’s three-quarters distance.

Busch had complained since the early laps about a drivetrain vibration, which he said had become worse as the race went on.


Pos Driver Team Car Gap
1 Kevin Harvick Stewart-Haas Racing Ford 3h28m37.s
2 Clint Bowyer Stewart-Haas Racing Ford 7.450s
3 Daniel Suarez Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 21h31m23.s
4 Martin Truex Jr. Furniture Row Racing Toyota 21h31m23.s
5 Kurt Busch Stewart-Haas Racing Ford 21h31m23.s
6 Brad Keselowski Team Penske Ford 21h31m23.s
7 Denny Hamlin Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 21h31m23.s
8 Ryan Blaney Team Penske Ford 21h31m23.s
9 Jimmie Johnson Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 21h31m23.s
10 Kyle Larson Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet 21h31m23.s
11 Aric Almirola Stewart-Haas Racing Ford 21h31m23.s
12 Chase Elliott Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 21h31m23.s
13 Joey Logano Team Penske Ford 21h31m23.s
14 William Byron Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 1 Lap
15 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Roush Fenway Racing Ford 1 Lap
16 Jamie McMurray Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet 1 Lap
17 Kasey Kahne Leavine Family Racing Chevrolet 1 Lap
18 Erik Jones Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 1 Lap
19 Trevor Bayne Roush Fenway Racing Ford 2 Laps
20 Chris Buescher JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet 2 Laps
21 A.J. Allmendinger JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet 3 Laps
22 Michael McDowell Front Row Motorsports Ford 3 Laps
23 Alex Bowman Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 3 Laps
24 Ty Dillon Germain Racing Chevrolet 4 Laps
25 Darrell Wallace Jr. Richard Petty Motorsports Chevrolet 4 Laps
26 Austin Dillon Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet 5 Laps
27 David Ragan Front Row Motorsports Ford 5 Laps
28 Ross Chastain Premium Motorsports Chevrolet 7 Laps
29 Matt DiBenedetto Go FAS Racing Ford 8 Laps
30 Gray Gaulding BK Racing Toyota 14 Laps
31 Landon Cassill StarCom Racing Chevrolet 15 Laps
32 Reed Sorenson Premium Motorsports Chevrolet 18 Laps
33 Ryan Newman Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet 23 Laps
34 Paul Menard Wood Brothers Racing Ford 46 Laps
35 Kyle Busch Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 129 Laps
36 Cody Ware Rick Ware Racing Chevrolet Accident
37 Derrike Cope StarCom Racing Chevrolet Accident
38 Corey LaJoie TriStar Motorsports Chevrolet Engine


Source link

Articles You May Like

Danilo Petrucci in no ‘rush’ to prove long-term worth to Ducati
Kevin Magnussen: Lack of blame culture a key Haas strenght in F1
A rare insight into why Max Verstappen is ‘almost impossible to imitate’
Formula 1 reports TV and digital growth for 2018 season
Ducati set to start 2019 MotoGP launch season and reveal new livery

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *