WRC Rally Spain: Ogier beats rival Neuville on opening superspecial

Get unlimited access

You have 10 articles remaining to view this month.

M-Sport’s Sebastien Ogier started the World Rally Championship’s penultimate round in Spain by winning Thursday evening’s opening stage to lead the rally overnight from Hyundai title rival Thierry Neuville.

Ogier – who trails Neuville by seven points in the standings – completed the tight and twisty two-mile asphalt test in 3m35.3s, besting Neuville’s time by a brilliant 3.7 seconds.

“It won’t be easy for the rest of the weekend,” said Ogier.

“We had a good strategy on the tyres but tomorrow we have a little less tyres than everyone else.”

Neuville rolled on the pre-event shakedown, and thanked his mechanics at the end of SS1 for repairing his i20 Coupe WRC ready for the start.

He will open the order on Friday, running first on the road in the rally’s gravel phase, clearing a path for those behind.

Ott Tanak made sure all three title rivals were at the head of the order, the Toyota driver ending the stage just 0.5s behind Neuville. Hyundai’s Andreas Mikkelsen said he felt “positive” as he took fourth, ahead of Ogier’s Ford Fiesta team-mate Elfyn Evans.

Dani Sordo returns for his home event after a lengthy absence in the car he is sharing with Hayden Paddon and took sixth, ahead of WRC2 leader Kalle Rovanpera.

The R5 cars of the support category often prove competitive on the opening superspecials.

Behind the 18-year-old Skoda Fabia driver, Craig Breen was the leading Citroen driver in eighth, ahead of WRC2 champion-elect Jan Kopecky and Toyota team-mates Jari-Matti Latvala and Esapekka Lappi.

Petter Solberg was 14th on the first stage Volkswagen’s new Polo R5 car has completed in competition.

The 2003 WRC champion was by far the best of the returning WRC stars on this event.

Nine-time champion Sebastien Loeb was 15.9s slower than Ogier and well behind a group of R5 cars, as was Gymkhana star Ken Block, who ended the stage 26.5s down on Ogier.

Leading positions

Pos Driver Team Car Time Gap
1 Sebastien Ogier, J.Ingrassia M-Sport Ford WRT Ford 3m35.3s
2 Thierry Neuville, N.Gilsoul Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT Hyundai 3m39.0s 3.7s
3 Ott Tanak, M.Jarveoja Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT Toyota 3m39.5s 4.2s
4 Andreas Mikkelsen, A.Jager Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT Hyundai 3m40.9s 5.6s
5 Elfyn Evans, D.Barritt M-Sport Ford WRT Ford 3m41.3s 6.0s
6 Dani Sordo, C.del Barrio Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT Hyundai 3m42.8s 7.5s
7 Kalle Rovanpera, J.Halttunen Skoda Motorsport Skoda 3m43.9s 8.6s
8 Craig Breen, S.Martin Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT Citroen 3m44.0s 8.7s
9 Jan Kopecky, P.Dresler Skoda Motorsport Skoda 3m44.3s 9.0s
10 Jari-Matti Latvala, M.Anttila Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT Toyota 3m45.0s 9.7s

Articles You May Like

Ken Block tips Oliver Solberg to be a ‘big name’ in rallying
Wolff: FIA knows F1’s Whiting impossible to replace with one person
How Ducati’s controversial rear winglet row threatens MotoGP unity
Alfa Romeo F1 team signs Juan Manuel Correa for development role
Penske’s Will Power surges to 56th IndyCar pole position at Austin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *