Sepang MotoGP: Maverick Vinales leads Marc Marquez in practice

Yamaha rider Maverick Vinales topped third practice for MotoGP’s Malaysian Grand Prix at Sepang, edging newly-crowned champion Marc Marquez.

Vinales and Marquez traded times with 20 minutes to go after the Honda rider successfully managed to upsurge the Yamaha’s previous chart-topping benchmark of 2m.00.640s.

But Vinales immediately shot back, setting a time of 2m00.284s to reclaim the top spot.

That lap would remain unbeaten until the final few minutes of the session, when times began to quickly tumble.

Vinales himself was first to break the two-minute barrier, but was immediately bettered by Jack Miller – who took over the top of the timesheets with a 1m59.375s flyer on his Pramac Ducati.

Marquez threw in his own late attempt, but Vinales managed to beat him with a 1m59.231s to end the session fastest of all.

Marquez was 0.026 seconds behind in second, while Miller’s previous benchmark put him third in the timesheets.

Dani Pedrosa earned himself a Q2 berth on the other works Honda by ending up fourth in both the session and the combined the standings, his time of 1m59.599s was 0.224s behind Vinales’ quickest lap.

Tech3’s Johann Zarco finished fifth ahead of Pramac rider Danilo Petrucci and the second factory Yamaha of Valentino Rossi, while Andrea Iannone was classified eighth for Suzuki.

Iannone held on to the final Q2 spot from Nieto Ducati rider Alvaro Bautista, who finished ninth in the session and 11th overall.

The top 10 was completed by Franco Morbidelli’s Marc VDS Honda.

Jorge Lorenzo’s replacement Michele Pirro ended up 16th fastest in the session after suffering a slide at the final corner.

FP3 times

Pos Rider Team Bike Time Gap Laps
1 Maverick Vinales Yamaha Yamaha 1m59.231s 17
2 Marc Marquez Honda Honda 1m59.257s 0.026s 17
3 Jack Miller Pramac Ducati Ducati 1m59.375s 0.144s 18
4 Dani Pedrosa Honda Honda 1m59.599s 0.368s 18
5 Johann Zarco Tech3 Yamaha Yamaha 1m59.655s 0.424s 18
6 Danilo Petrucci Pramac Ducati Ducati 1m59.671s 0.440s 16
7 Valentino Rossi Yamaha Yamaha 1m59.773s 0.542s 18
8 Andrea Iannone Suzuki Suzuki 1m59.799s 0.568s 18
9 Alvaro Bautista Aspar Ducati Ducati 2m00.130s 0.899s 19
10 Franco Morbidelli MVDS Honda Honda 2m00.405s 1.174s 16
11 Stefan Bradl LCR Honda Honda 2m00.428s 1.197s 18
12 Pol Espargaro KTM KTM 2m00.513s 1.282s 17
13 Hafizh Syahrin Tech3 Yamaha Yamaha 2m00.558s 1.327s 16
14 Takaaki Nakagami LCR Honda Honda 2m00.638s 1.407s 18
15 Alex Rins Suzuki Suzuki 2m00.649s 1.418s 18
16 Aleix Espargaro Aprilia Aprilia 2m00.737s 1.506s 17
17 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati Ducati 2m00.810s 1.579s 17
18 Michele Pirro Ducati Ducati 2m01.090s 1.859s 15
19 Bradley Smith KTM KTM 2m01.223s 1.992s 17
20 Karel Abraham Aspar Ducati Ducati 2m01.385s 2.154s 15
21 Thomas Luthi MVDS Honda Honda 2m01.470s 2.239s 17
22 Scott Redding Aprilia Aprilia 2m02.442s 3.211s 14
23 Jordi Torres Avintia Ducati Ducati 2m03.142s 3.911s 13
24 Xavier Simeon Avintia Ducati Ducati 2m03.455s 4.224s 11

Articles You May Like

How Ducati’s controversial rear winglet row threatens MotoGP unity
Martin Truex Jr: No short track win ‘big hole’ in NASCAR Cup record
Crucial vote on Formula 1’s proposed Miami GP set for next week
‘Gutsy’ Lance Stroll will get credit he deserves – Racing Point
Wolff: Verstappen’s F1 Australian GP Vettel pass proves Honda power

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *