Formula 1

Force India’s new Racing Point name to change before 2019 F1 season

The Racing Point name is not a permanent new title for the former Force India team and will change before the start of the 2019 Formula 1 season.

The provisional entry list for the 2019 F1 World Championship lists the team and chassis name as Racing Point, but that is just a temporary measure as the Silverstone outfit makes the transition from its former identity as Force India.

The team officially became Racing Point Force India at the Belgian Grand Prix when it was accepted as a new entry.

The FIA was keen for the team to use the company name created for the acquisition process by new owner Lawrence Stroll in order to distinguish the new organisation from its previous incarnation as Sahara Force India.

But Stroll does not have any particular affinity to the Racing Point name, and a new one is currently under discussion.

Team principal Otmar Szafnauer confirmed that his squad will not be known as Racing Point next year.

“It is just a place holder to indicate future change which will take place and be announced before the 2019 season,” Szafnauer told Autosport.

Changing a team and chassis name is less complicated than it used to be, and teams no longer have to get the permission of the F1 Commission – and hence the support of rivals.

Instead they just have to apply to the FIA and follow the correct administrative procedure.

Articles You May Like

McLaren rules out buying Fernando Alonso into the Indianapolis 500
F1’s Norris: McLaren right to take Alonso Indy 500 exit on the chin
Honda’s Lorenzo: Battling satellite bikes shows better MotoGP form
Petrucci “very, very scared” of hitting Ducati team-mate Dovizioso
Video: Three things to look out for in F1’s Monaco Grand Prix

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *