Toyota WRC team reveals Seb Marshall as Kris Meeke’s co-driver

Toyota has announced its 2019 World Rally Championship signing Kris Meeke will be co-driven by Seb Marshall.

Autosport reported in October that Meeke, who was axed by Citroen after May’s Rally Portugal, and co-driver Paul Nagle had split amicably ahead of Meeke’s 2019 WRC return with Toyota.

Marshall, who has served as Hyundai driver Hayden Paddon’s co-driver, was understood at the time to be favourite to partner the five-time rally winner.

Toyota has now confirmed Marshall will co-drive Meeke in one of its three Yaris WRCs, which will mark Marshall’s first full co-driving campaign in the series.

Marshall (pictured below) has four years’ experience in the WRC, having co-driven Kevin Abbring before joining Paddon – who contested a part-campaign this year – from Rally Portugal in 2017.

A statement from Toyota confirming Marshall’s arrival said he “has quickly become one of the most respected co-drivers in rallying”.

“In the relatively short period of time Hayden and I have worked together we’ve achieved a great deal,” said Marshall in a post shared on his Twitter account.

“My time with him has undoubtedly been my most successful in the sport – registering numerous stage wins, WRC podiums and many other career highlights.

“It’s tough to call time on a partnership as strong as ours and it’s a decision I deliberated over at length. However, an opportunity arose that I felt I couldn’t ignore.

“I’ll be stepping into a seat with some big shoes to fill, but I’m hugely excited by the prospect of working with Kris and the Toyota Gazoo Racing World Rally team – and contesting a full WRC season for the first time.

“I want to express my enormous thanks to Hayden and everybody in the Hyundai team, who I have spent the last four years with.”

Toyota added that Meeke and Marshall will start their co-operation later this month, in preparation for January’s Monte Carlo Rally season opener.

Articles You May Like

Kyalami owner ‘committed’ to hosting grand prix amid F1 interest
Bob Fernley leaves McLaren IndyCar team after Alonso Indy 500 miss
Hyundai drops Mikkelsen from WRC line-up in favour of Loeb again
Three-time Formula 1 world champion Niki Lauda dies aged 70
Marc Marquez takes pole position in mixed weather at Le Mans

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *