Dovizioso keeps Qatar MotoGP win as protest against Ducati rejected

MotoGP stewards have thrown out a protest against Ducati following Sunday evening’s 2019 season-opening Qatar Grand Prix, meaning Andrea Dovizioso keeps his victory.

Dovizioso’s narrow win over Honda’s Marc Marquez was thrown into doubt when it emerged that Suzuki, Honda, KTM and Aprilia had lodged a protest against Ducati’s newly-introduced rear tyre winglet.

The component can be seen just in front of the rear tyre at the very bottom of the bike in the picture below.

An investigation was launched after the race, but ultimately it was deemed by MotoGP’s technical delegates that the part in question is legal.

Danilo Petrucci had run the part – which is believed to assist with tyre cooling – in practice before both he and Dovizioso adopted it for the race.

A MotoGP statement said that “based on guidelines and regulations currently in force, the FIM MotoGP stewards panel rejected [the] protests”.

It means both Dovizioso’s victory and Petrucci’s sixth place finish are now final, although the statement added that “an appeals process is ongoing”.

Race result

Pos Rider Team Bike Laps Gap
1 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati Ducati 22 42m36.902s
2 Marc Marquez Honda Honda 22 0.023s
3 Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda Honda 22 0.320s
4 Alex Rins Suzuki Suzuki 22 0.457s
5 Valentino Rossi Yamaha Yamaha 22 0.600s
6 Danilo Petrucci Ducati Ducati 22 2.320s
7 Maverick Vinales Yamaha Yamaha 22 2.481s
8 Joan Mir Suzuki Suzuki 22 5.088s
9 Takaaki Nakagami LCR Honda Honda 22 7.406s
10 Aleix Espargaro Aprilia Aprilia 22 9.636s
11 Franco Morbidelli Petronas Yamaha Yamaha 22 9.647s
12 Pol Espargaro KTM KTM 22 12.774s
13 Jorge Lorenzo Honda Honda 22 14.307s
14 Andrea Iannone Aprilia Aprilia 22 14.349s
15 Johann Zarco KTM KTM 22 15.093s
16 Fabio Quartararo Petronas Yamaha Yamaha 22 15.905s
17 Miguel Oliveira Tech3 KTM KTM 22 16.377s
18 Karel Abraham Avintia Ducati Ducati 22 22.972s
19 Tito Rabat Avintia Ducati Ducati 22 23.039s
20 Hafizh Syahrin Tech3 KTM KTM 22 43.242s
Bradley Smith Aprilia Aprilia 20 Retirement
Jack Miller Pramac Ducati Ducati 12 Retirement
Francesco Bagnaia Pramac Ducati Ducati 9 Retirement

Articles You May Like

Lorenzo: Barcelona “most consistent” 2019 event after Honda tweaks
Mikkelsen returns to Hyundai WRC team for Rally Sardinia
Formula 1 bosses and teams agree 2021 rules publication delay
Citroen: Rival WRC teams entering national rallies “is not fair”
Mercedes boss Wolff says F1 should change rules for “harder racing”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *