Road America IndyCar: Rossi leads every lap to take dominant win

Alexander Rossi dominated IndyCar’s Road America race to take his second win of the season, ending a run of three second places from the last four races.

The Andretti Autosport driver passed polesitter Colton Herta in the opening sequence of corners on the first lap and never looked back, leading all 55 laps and crossing the line almost 30 seconds clear of second-place finisher Will Power.

Power was comfortably ahead of Penske team-mate Josef Newgarden, who resisted a late charge from Graham Rahal to secure the final podium spot.

Scott Dixon completed the top five, fighting back from last place after he was pitched into a spin by Ryan Hunter-Reay on the opening lap.

Dixon took fifth on the final lap, breezing past a struggling Herta.

Herta eventually finished eighth after contending with a number of issues during the race.

After being passed by Rossi at the start, Herta was further held up by a fuel hose issue during his first pitstop, and then made contact with Simon Pagenaud on lap 21.

In the final laps, fighting with heavy worn tyres, Herta struggled to keep on track and had to fend off the Chip Ganassi Racing pairing of Dixon and Felix Rosenqvist, as well as James Hinchcliffe.

After initially repassing Hinchcliffe, who briefly got by, Herta lost out to Dixon, Rosenqvist, and Hinchcliffe once more in the space of a few corners.

Herta did however beat Indianapolis 500 winner Pagenaud, who fought back to ninth place after his earlier contact with the Harding Steinbrenner driver.

Takuma Sato rounded out the top 10, despite an early excursion over the grass after making contact with Hinchcliffe.

He bettered fellow early struggler Ryan Hunter-Reay, who took 11th, ahead of Sebastien Bourdais and Marcus Ericsson.

There was only one retirement in the race, with Marco Andretti’s race ending on lap 20 when his car developed an electrical problem. He had been running in the top 10 before the problem arose.

Result – 55 laps

Pos Driver Team Car Gap
1 Alexander Rossi Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 1h39m40.4743s
2 Will Power Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 28.4391s
3 Josef Newgarden Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 31.8443s
4 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Dallara/Honda 33.4094s
5 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Honda 39.1173s
6 Felix Rosenqvist Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Honda 41.7825s
7 James Hinchcliffe Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Dallara/Honda 45.5520s
8 Colton Herta Harding Racing Dallara/Honda 47.6935s
9 Simon Pagenaud Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 53.8945s
10 Takuma Sato Rahal Letterman Lanigan Dallara/Honda 58.9047s
11 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 1m01.0878s
12 Sebastien Bourdais Dale Coyne Racing Dallara/Honda 1m03.9724s
13 Marcus Ericsson Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Dallara/Honda 1m17.7859s
14 Spencer Pigot Ed Carpenter Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m19.6032s
15 Jack Harvey Meyer Shank Racing Dallara/Honda 1m42.2456s
16 Max Chilton Carlin Dallara/Chevrolet 1m46.5309s
17 Patricio O’Ward Carlin Dallara/Chevrolet 1 Lap
18 Zach Veach Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 1 Lap
19 Santino Ferrucci Dale Coyne Racing Dallara/Honda 1 Lap
20 Matheus Leist AJ Foyt Enterprises Dallara/Chevrolet 1 Lap
21 Tony Kanaan AJ Foyt Enterprises Dallara/Chevrolet 1 Lap
22 Ed Jones Ed Carpenter Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1 Lap
23 Marco Andretti Andretti Herta Dallara/Honda Mechanical

Articles You May Like

Why Morbidelli prizes outqualifying Quartararo so much
Marquez eases to Motegi MotoGP win ahead of Quartararo
NASCAR Xfinity title rivals in post-race fight at Kansas
Honda: Zarco must not think of replacing Lorenzo in MotoGP team
Dovizioso used “stupid braking” to catch Quartararo at Motegi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *